A-Z Bookish Tag

Hi all!

So I saw this awesome tag over on Amanda @ Literary Weaponry‘s blog and couldn’t stop myself from doing it! Everyone please go check out Amanda’s wonderful blog here: she’s a fantastic blogger and writes such thoughtful reviews!

Screen Shot 2017-07-19 at 2.32.35 pm

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Ooh, I’m not 100% sure, but I think either Cassandra Clare or K.J. Charles.

therosesocietyBest Sequel Ever:

Hands down: The Rose Society. It’s seriously the greatest sequel I’ve ever read.

Currently Reading:

It by Stephen King.

Drink of Choice While Reading:

English breakfast tea! Can’t have anything else, not even coffee and I love coffee.

E-reader or Physical Book?

I literally can’t be a part of this debate, because I read both equally. I refuse to choose, they both have their merits!!

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Percy Jackson!!! He’s the cutest – super loyal and friendly. Love him to death.

percy

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

Cyberlove series by Megan Erickson and Santino Hassell. I originally didn’t want to read this series because it just seemed strange being an adult m/m romance in first person, and I found the plot line a little silly, I guess. But I’m so glad I read the series, mainly because my friend Silvia loved it. This series is so freaking good – the romance between all the couples is developed beautifully, the inclusion of technology so creative, and the writing was actually amazing.

Hidden Gem Book:

The Raging Quiet by Sherryl Jordan. I read this book in high school and it is so beautiful. I’ve been meaning to rereading it for years! It’s about a young woman accused of being a witch in the medieval era, who befriends a young deaf man.

jellicoeImportant Moment in your Reading Life:

Hmm, perhaps when I finished reading On Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. I remember the second I closed that book I felt different – like more wiser, which is hilarious but it’s true. It’s truly a beautiful novel that I encourage everyone to read.

Just Finished:

What Happened by Hillary Rodham Clinton. This book was such an eye-opener and I encourage everyone to read it. I won’t lie, some parts were slow and dry, and if non-fiction is not your thing, then at the very least, please read the chapters on her emails and the Russians. You won’t believe it.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

Postmodern fiction – not a big fan at all. I find the books very pretentious – I have studied quite a few – and the storylines often confusing.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Bleak House by Charles Dickens – coming in at 1036 pages!

Major book hangover because of:

I can’t really remember, so I went through all of the books I read this year, and I think it was because of Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor. That book is just glorious in every way and I thought about it for days after I finished it!

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Two! But one contains a massive trunk attached to it with heaps of books inside.

24706448One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

Prince’s Gambit by C.S. Pacat. Can’t get enough of that book!

Preferred Place To Read:

My comfy couch in my living room, covered with my Pride and Prejudice blanket. If that’s taken, then my bed. With my blanket again.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

5675fdbdd3fcb_thumb900Reading Regret:

Paper Princess by Erin Watt. I’m sorry, but I just found that book incredibly sexist and offensive, and have no desire to read the rest of the series.

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series):

A Darker Shade of Magic series by V.E. Schwab! I even own the whole series, but I still haven’t read the last two!

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  3. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

immortalinstruments6books

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare! I know the books have their issues, but I read them when I was 14/15 and they hold a very special place in my heart. I fangirl over Cassie’s books every year when they’re published.

32454291Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Circe by Madeline Miller! Honestly I am dying for this book and if I somehow – miraculously – manage to get an ARC, I’ll cry like a baby.

Worst Bookish Habit:

I have a tendency to skip to the very last page of a book and read the last line/skim the last page to make sure everyone gets to the end. I’m working on stopping this bad habit, and it’s actually been a while since I’ve done this.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

The Amazing Adventure of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon! I got this book as a birthday present last year and still haven’t read it, although I’ve heard nothing but good things!

Your latest book purchase:

Quite a few:

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake. I stayed up late so I could finish that amazing book!

Screen Shot 2017-07-19 at 2.32.35 pm

I tag:

Silvia @ Silvia Reads Books
Marty @ The Cursed Books
Ashley @ Inside my Minds
Danielle @ Touch My Spine Book Reviews
Darque Dreamer Reads
Jessica Tuckerman

Please don’t feel obliged to do this tag if you don’t want to/have already done it!! (Also, a lot of these tags are scheduled posts, so sorry if you keep being tagged! I always forget who I’ve tagged before.)

❤️ Laura

12 thoughts on “A-Z Bookish Tag

  1. Amanda @ Literary Weaponry says:

    Love it! Isn’t this such a fun tag? I am 100% with you on the ereader/physical book debate. They both serve their purpose. It is a lot easier to take an e-book collection with you when you travel than a whole suitcase of hardbacks but you also just can’t replace the feel of a solid book in your hands.

    I hadn’t run across that Captive Prince series by Pacat before. It sounds really interesting, I’m glad I saw it here! Added to the TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thebookcorps says:

      I’m glad you agree with me! Oh yes, please do. Just letting you know the first book in the Captive Prince series is quite dark and a little hard to get through. But the next 2 books are incredible 😀

      Like

  2. thecursedbooks says:

    Thank you very much for tagging me!! It seems like such a fun tag and I can’t wait to do it. I loved your answers and I agree so much when it comes to Circe, I’m so sad that it’s not available anymore on netgalley. 😦 I’m so excited.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ashley says:

    I have yet to finish The Shades of Magic also. And I can’t wait until Circe is published. Madeline Miller is definitely an author that I trust when it comes to retellings of Greek stories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment