Blogmas #13: 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag

Hi all!

Welcome to Blogmas day 13!

Today, I’m bringing you the 12 Days of Christmas book tag! This tag is one of the best Christmas tags I’ve seen in a while, so I couldn’t not do it! It was created by Falling Down the Book Hole.

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 6.51.19 pm

ON THE FIRST DAY OF CHRISTMAS, MY TRUE LOVE SENT TO ME: A PARTRIDGE IN A PEAR TREE

The partridge stood alone in the pear tree. What is your favourite stand alone?

42730332. sx318

I adore The Starless Sea so much, I can’t even begin to express what it means to me. It’s so beautifully written, so evocative, that it had me on the edge of my seat the entire time I was reading it. If you like slightly weird, stunning books, then look no further!


ON THE SECOND DAY OF CHRISTMAS, MY TRUE LOVE SENT TO ME: TWO TURTLE DOVES

Love is in the air! Who is your one true pairing?

If you didn’t immediately guess Damen and Laurent from Captive Prince, do you even know me at all? Anyway, I adore these two men so much — they come from such different backgrounds (and yet led strangely similar lives) hated each other so much, tried to and did hurt each other, and then somehow found the strength to forgive each other and fall in love. No one does enemies to lovers like them.


ON THE THIRD DAY OF CHRISTMAS, MY TRUE LOVE SENT TO ME: THREE FRENCH HENS

In the spirit of threes, what is the best trilogy you have read?

The best trilogy I’ve ever read is a no brainer! I adore this series with all my heart, especially the main characters. There’s just so much tension in the book, and so much reading between the lines. Wish I could write like Pacat!


ON THE FOURTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS, MY TRUE LOVE SENT TO ME: FOUR CALLING BIRDS

Since series usually consist of four or more books, what is your favourite series?

I’m going to give a warning: this book is not for the feint-hearted. I know TJ’s books have become quite popular now (since The House in the Cerulean Sea was published), but this series is NOT that book! It’s crass, and weird, and silly, and so damn good! I especially love the romance between Sam and Ryan — they are so adorable. Omg, I want to read this series again!


ON THE FIFTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS, MY TRUE LOVE SENT TO ME: FIVE GOLDEN RINGS

One ring to rule them all! Who is your Favourite Villain/Antagonist?

45046552

My favourite antagonist ever is the little shit known as Talasseres Charossa. He’s an incredibly selfish elf who will do literally anything to save himself, screw everyone else in the process. But oh gosh, I adore him. He’s a super depressed, lonely and extremely bitter gay. I want to marry him.


ON THE SIXTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS, MY TRUE LOVE SENT TO ME: SIX GEESE A-LAYING

Creation is a beautiful thing. What is your favourite world/world-building?

40275288. sy475

I wish I could live in the world of The Priory of the Orange Tree! It’s a matriarchal society with dragons, hello!? Who wouldn’t want to live there?


ON THE SEVENTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS, MY TRUE LOVE SENT TO ME: SEVEN SWANS A-SWIMMING

Who needs seven swans when all it takes is one good animal sidekick? Who’s your favourite animal sidekick?

50202953. sx318

I’d have to say the birds from Piranesi are my favourite animal sidekicks. They’re not so much sidekicks though, but they are quite adorable as Piranesi takes a lot of comfort in them.


ON THE EIGHTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS, MY TRUE LOVE SENT TO ME: EIGHT MAIDS A-MILKING

Milk is so 18th century. Which book or series takes beverages/food to a whole new level?

37534577. sx318

Check, Please! is the sweetest graphic novel about a figure skater turned hockey player who loves to bake! Reading this made me want to back a pie so bad.


ON THE NINTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE SENT TO ME: NINE LADIES DANCING

Dancing is just one skill of a Lady! Who is your favourite kickass female lead?

One of my favourite female characters is Isabelle Lightwood from The Mortal Instruments. She’s such a badass, but also so lovely and beautiful at the same time. I love how she’d do anything — anything — for her family.


ON THE TENTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE SENT TO ME: TEN LORDS A-LEAPING

How about your favourite leading lad?

The love of my life, Zachary Ezra Rawlins! This lovely boy is from The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern and he has my whole heart! He’s such a gentle soul, who has a lot of anxiety but still manages to be the hero of the story. I love him!


ON THE ELEVENTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE SENT TO ME: ELEVEN PIPERS PIPING

What is your favourite book or bookish thing with musical influence? (It can be about music, reference music a lot, etc.)

50225678

I don’t read a lot of books about music because I don’t care that much, but the first book that came to mind was Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall. This is a great m/m romance where one of the main character’s father is an ageing rockstar who he has a lot of problems with. The book focuses quite a bit on their relationship too.


ON THE TWELFTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE SENT TO ME: 12 DRUMMERS DRUMMING

Drum roll please… what is your favourite read of this year?

I’m not telling, it’s a secret until my ‘Best of 2020 Reads’ comes out 😉.

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 6.51.19 pm

Who’s your favourite leading lady? Or your favourite villain? Let me know!

Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 4.10.28 pm

6 thoughts on “Blogmas #13: 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag

  1. thebrowneyedbookworm says:

    Love your answers!!! I’m a huge Damen and Laurent fan. I stopped counting how often I’ve read the trilogy – it’s one of my most favorite of all. Also, love TJ Klune and must agree, people who found him because of The House in the Cerulean Sea are not prepared when it comes to his other books – lol. And yay to Boyfriend Material – I had so much fun with this book.

    ~ Corina | TheBrownEyedBookworm.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment