My Favourite Book Tropes + Book Recs!

Hi all!

I’m a massive genre reader: I especially love fantasy and romance, and even better if the book is a fantasy romance.

And a lot of the times in genre books you come across the same tropes over and over again. Some people tire quickly of tropes, but I love them. When I know a book features a favourite trope of mine, I’m 10x more likely to pick it up — which actually happened quite recently with There Will Come a Darkness! I found out the debut novel featured gods and five minutes later I was at the bookstore.

I’ve previously written a post about something similar: a list of weirdly specific things that I love in books — not tropes. Check out that post here! And since I gushed about the random things I enjoy in books, I thought it was about time I gushed about my favourite tropes too!

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 6.51.19 pm

Enemies to lovers

Y’all know I had to start with my favourite trope of all time! It’s a God tier trope and I’ve actually written an entire post explaining why Enemies to Lovers is the superior trope. I just love it when two people who genuinely despise each other begin to fall in love. They often try and prevent the feelings from developing, but in the end it’s a lost cause and they succumb to their feelings!

Book recs:

 

The Chosen One

I love a good Chosen One book and will never get sick of this trope. The Chosen One is the main character of a story who has been chosen by some higher power to defeat the bad guy and save the day. Only this one character can destroy evil and (usually) get their happy ending.

Book recs:

 

Found Family

I love the Found Family trope so much because it makes me ridiculously emotional and sometimes I love how much the angst hurts me. The Found Family trope is about solitary character finding a group of friends that are as close as family to call his own; or a group of people who find each other and build a family for themselves to care for each other. It’s so sweet and loving, and oftentimes a family you choose for yourself can be more loving than a blood one.

Book recs:

 

Villain Redemption

If you’ve been following my blog for any amount of time, you know that I love villains more than the hero of the story. There’s just something about a person who sees villainy as their only path, and I find it so much more amazing when that villain then becomes redeemed … or even better, they join up with the hero to save the day!

Book recs:

The Quest

I love books — usually big fantasy ones — where the hero and their friends go on a quest to save the day. The Quest trope is just so much fun because the characters are going on a fantastical journey, and on the way they meet so many different people and experience amazing cultures and locations. A big part of the Quest is worldbuilding, which explains why I love it so much.

Book recs:

 

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 6.51.19 pm

What are your favourite tropes? Have you read any of the books I’ve listed? Let me know!

Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 4.10.28 pm

15 thoughts on “My Favourite Book Tropes + Book Recs!

  1. Satou Johns says:

    The villain redemption is really appealing for me too! People can chance… at least in books Haha it is like a moment of realization that chances their lives, really heavy and Important events, like the GTO one 😮 it if it is week or before of “love” I dont know if I will like it as much haha

    Like

  2. Marie says:

    This is such a lovely list! I really like the enemies to lovers trope and tell me how you really feel is on my TBR, I can’t wait to get to it 😀 found family just makes me SO happy in stories, too, I adore a cast of characters that are so close they feel like family, I just find it so sweet and so endearing and ahhh I love it. ❤

    Like

  3. Sakhile says:

    I love quest books, the travelling, the camping, the adventure – it’s my favourite trope in Fantasy. I’ll do you one better than enemies to lovers – enemies to fake dating to lovers; the best trope.

    Like

  4. Shans_Shelves says:

    Your found family and enemies to lovers recs have me like.😍😍😍

    I had no idea, Tell me it’s real was enemies to lovers??? And it’s sapphic. I have the biggest need.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment