Read, Rewrite or Burn Book Tag

Hi all!

I’ve been tagged! Yay!

Thank you so much to the very lovely Jayati from @ Junky Writing for tagging me! Everyone please go check out her amazing blog!

Screen Shot 2018-05-29 at 5.10.45 pm

The Rules:

  • Randomly choose 3 books
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread
  • Repeat until you’ve completed six rounds (or however many rounds you want to do)

Round One

Read: Luck in the Shadows
Rewrite: Radio Silence
Burn: History Is All You Left Me

Oh my gosh, this was so freaking hard, because I loved all these books! I adored Luck in the Shadows so definitely reread that; I’d rewrite Radio Silence and give Frances a girlfriend, and burn HIAYLM because that’s my least favourite Adam Silvera book.

Round Two

Read: In Other Lands
Rewrite: The Secret History
Burn: Sweethearts

Absolutely no hard choices here: 100% read the perfection that is In Other Lands, rewrite The Secret History so I can make Richard and Francis get together and also give a couple of my favourite characters are happier ending, and burn Sweethearts because it was quite depressing.

Round Three

Read: Words in Deep Blue
Rewrite: Life in Outer Space
Burn: Breakaway

So Words in Deep Blue was a perfect novel, there’s absolutely nothing that needs to change there. Probably rewrite Life in Outer Space to make Camilla less ‘I’m not like other girls’ type – she’s not often like that, but the writing makes her come across like that at the beginning of the book before we get to know her. And burn Breakaway because that book was slow, boring, and the main couple get together very quickly and the rest of the book just really drags.

Round Four

Read: Vicious 
Rewrite: These Vengeful Souls
Burn: Tempests and Slaughter

Vicious was an incredible novel – I literally couldn’t put it down so I would read this again for sure. I’d rewrite These Vengeful Souls to give it a more memorable ending. And I’d burn Tempests and Slaughter, even though I really enjoyed it. This is mainly because the plot was very slow and didn’t have any structure to it – it basically followed Arram during a few years at magic school (although it set up heaps for the next book).

Round Five

Read: Curved Horizon
Rewrite: The Abyss Surrounds Us
Burn: American Queen

I loved Curved Horizon when I read it, so read. I would only rewrite The Abyss Surrounds Us so I can make more romantic page time between Cas and Swift. And I’d burn American Queen only because it’s kind of insta-lovey – although I did really enjoy this book.

Round Six

Read: Leah on the Offbeat
Rewrite: Sky in the Deep
Burn: Running with Lions

loved Leah on the Offbeat so I’d definitely read that again. I’d rewrite Sky in the Deep only to up the stakes: make the tension more apparent, because at times the plot dragged a little. And unfortunately I’d burn Running with Lions – I read about 40-50% of this book and couldn’t connect with the writing at all. The characters were great but the writing made me feel out of touch with the story. I might get around to finishing the book, who knows.

Screen Shot 2018-05-19 at 7.02.13 pm

I tag

Silvia @ Silvia Reads Books | Jamieson @ Jami Shelves | Flavia @ Flavia the Bibliophile | Krisha @ Bookathon | Naty @ Naty’s Bookshelf | Natasha @ Cats and Paperbacks | Rebecca @ Bookishly Rebecca | Sakhile @ Sakhile Whispers  | Ally @ Ally Writes Things

Hope you all have fun doing the tag, but please don’t feel obliged to do it if you don’t want to / have already done it !

Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 4.10.28 pm

16 thoughts on “Read, Rewrite or Burn Book Tag

    • thebookcorps says:

      Luck in the Shadows is awesome! It’s about a sixteen year old boy named Alec who becomes an apprentice to a man named Seregil who’s a thief and a Watcher – someone who watches important people and reports about them to wizards and the queen. They have heaps of adventurers but they’re trying to figure out who’s trying to usurp the throne. It’s amazing, I hope you get the chance to read it!!

      Like

  1. LittleIrishbookcat says:

    I agree give Frances a gf!! 😍 Also I agree with your choice to burn Breakaway because that book was awful and offensive to my eyes! Great post dear😘💜

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment