Review Tour: Contour by Meg Harding

Universal Buy Link: HereCover
Length:
 52,000 words approx
Cover Design: Garrett Leigh @ Black Jazz Design

Blurb:

Jamie “Roxy” Albright has one great love in his life and room for no other. He lives and breathes makeup. Men are nothing more than temporary distractions and romance… well, that isn’t worth his time. With a burgeoning career as a YouTube makeup artist opening doors to never before dreamed of opportunities, time isn’t something Jamie has and distractions aren’t something he can afford.

Instagram model and shirtless wonder Tyler Jackson is quickly falling for elusive Jamie. How it went from a seemingly innocent message to feelings, he’ll never know. Their chemistry is instant and fiery hot, and Tyler’s never been that good at self control. The challenges are endless, though. There’s Jamie’s walls to break through and a country worth of space between them. And just when things are starting to look up, life throws a wrench in the works.

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 8.50.15 pm

RTGrahpic

Review

My brain while reading Contour was basically just an endless omgthisissocutesosoftsopureimdying. 😭

Needless to say, I really, really enjoyed this light, fluffy novel. Contour by Meg Harding was my first 5-star read of 2018, and I can guarantee I’ll love the second book in the series just as much.

I don’t feel like I can adequately explain my love for this novel, because every part of it was just amazing: the characters, the plot, the writing, the romance. Everything worked so well together, and the entire story just flowed so naturally and beautifully.

The characters were nuanced, three-dimensional, and realistic. Jamie is a gender fluid YouTube makeup artist – he has been obsessed with makeup ever since he was a child – and is unduly influenced by his mother not to get too close to a man because he will inevitably rip your heart out. He flits from fling to fling, which has worked for him, until he starts an online relationship with Tyler, an Instagram model.

Tyler is honestly a pure cinnamon roll who deserves all the happiness in the world. He is an Instagram model who mainly uploads photos with his labradors, and he is genuinely a really nice guy. He’s also bisexual (so this book automatically got 5 stars for me – I’m kidding)!

I absolutely loved the way their relationship develops – from harmless online flirting to catching feels, to deciding to meet up. Each part of their journey evolved wonderfully and naturally, too. And trust me when I say this book is realistic (because there’s nothing I hate more than an unrealistic contemporary) – when Jamie and Tyler meet for the first time, there’s awkwardness between them, but the more they get to know each other, the stronger their relationship becomes. Contemporary romances are one of my favourite genres, but it’s so rare to find a perfectly balanced novel in terms of realism, romance, storyline and writing – Contour is definitely one such novel for me.

The book is definitely character-driven, and within the first few chapters, you will be head-over-heels for both Jamie and Tyler. There’s not a lot of angst in Contour: it’s basically two people learning to overcome their personal issues – one’s a commitment-phobe, the other is monogamous, but also has family issues – before they realise that they are perfect for one another. But what I love most is how Jamie and Tyler are seperate people outside of their romance: Jamie is a successful makeup artist who gets the opportunity to create his own line, and Tyler starts expanding his modelling outside of Instagram. They have ambitions and goals in life, too, which is equally important as a romance.

Harding’s writing is flawless. She so effortlessly gets into her characters heads and makes it clear which MC’s perspective we are reading with strong character voices. The writing style perfectly matched the tone of the novel – the pages just flipped by!

Meg Harding’s Contour has plenty to love: witty banter, two fantastic MCs, lovely background characters who I really want to see more of, humour, and a beautiful romance. It is perfect for fans of Santino Hassell and Megan Erickson’s Cyberlove series!

Please, do yourselves a favour and get your hands on a copy of Contour today! Meg Harding is definitely an author I want to read more of now!

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 8.50.15 pm

For a little bit of fun, I made a Contour aesthetic board!

Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 11.52.53 pm

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 8.50.15 pm

Follow the Review Tour

January 23 – Gay Book ReviewsBooksLaidBareBoysMikku-chanBook Review By Virginia Lee

January 25 – Urban Smoothie ReadLelyana’s Book BlogBook Love

January 27 – Sarandipity Book ReviewsGay Media Reviews

January 31 – Valerie UllmerScattered Thoughts & Rogue WordsKimmer’s Erotic Book Banter

February 2 – Bonkers About BooksHearts On Fire ReviewsBayou Book JunkieThe Book CorpsMirrigoldWicked Faerie’s Tales & ReviewsWicked ReadsMM Good Book Reviews

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 8.50.15 pm

CONTOUR

About the Author

7412743Meg Harding is a graduate of UCF, and recently completed a masters program for Publishing in the UK. For as long as she can remember, writing has always been her passion, but she had an inability to ever actually finish anything. She’s immensely happy that her inability has fled and looks forward to where her mind will take her next. She’s a sucker for happy endings, the beach, and superheroes. In her dream life she owns a wildlife conservation and is surrounded by puppies. She’s a film buff, voracious reader, and a massive geek.

Facebook | Twitter | Website | Google + | Goodreads

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 8.50.15 pm

Enter the giveaway here!

 

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of signalboosttransparent
Hosted By Signal Boost Promotions

Advertisements

One thought on “Review Tour: Contour by Meg Harding

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s