c.s. lewis · charlotte bronte · chronicles of narnia · crooked kingdom · game of thrones · george r.r. martin · grisha · jane austen · jane eyre · leigh bardugo · maggie stiefvater · merlin bbc · mulan · pride and prejudice · richelle mead · six of crows · t10t · the raven cycle · top ten tuesday · Uncategorized · vampire academy

Top 10 Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday – Characters I’d Name Something After

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature meme created by the awesome The Broke and the Bookish. There is a new theme each week which gives bloggers the opportunity to share book lists!  You have the choice to participate per week. Check out The Broke and the Bookish’s blog for more info!

This Tuesday’s topic is …

Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. After

Is it sad that I’ve already thought about this long before this topic? Oh, well.

Car: Khaleesi from A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin 
daenerys-targaryen-000222143-1

This is actually true, I have named my car after the Mother of Dragons. While her real name is Daenerys Targaryen, I decided to use her epithet Khaleesi. It makes sense, too, because my car is white and Dany has silver-white hair … get it?

Dog: Mushu from Mulan 

mushu

Sadly, I don’t have a dog, but I have always said that when I get one, I will name him Mushu (even if it’s a girl). I have always loved this character and Mulan is one of my favourite Disney Princess movies.

Dog: Kaz Brekker from the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo 

kaz_brekker

I love Kaz’s name – it’s simultaneously rough and dodgy. It would be awesome to name a dog after him and not just his first name, either. It has to be both – ‘Kaz Brekker,’ the dog.

Child: Aleksander from the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo 

darkiling

I have always loved the name Alexander, primarily because of my admiration of Alexander the Great, and I have constantly said I would name my son after him. Then I came across the spelling ‘Aleksander’ in Leigh Bardugo’s Ruin and Rising and fell in love with it. I think it’s a beautiful variant on a classical name.

Child: Elizabeth from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

lizzia

I love the idea of naming a child after the independent and beautiful book-lover Lizzie Bennet. Elizabeth is one of my all time favourite characters in fiction and someone I have always looked up to.

Child: Caspian from the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis 
the-chronicles-of-narnia-prince-caspian

Prince Caspian was one of my childhood crushes (and that’s not just due to Ben Barnes) and I will always have a special place for him in my heart. I have always loved the name ‘Caspian’ – it’s so different, strong and powerful.

Child: Dimitri from the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead

vampire-academy

I feel like every girl at one point has loved the name ‘Dimitri’ and wanted to name their child this. I think it’s a beautiful name and I, too, wanted to name a child ‘Dimitri,’ though I don’t think I would go through with it today. It’s a little cliché to me, now. However, I can still dream and reminisce.

Cat: Rochester from Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte 

rochester

Rochester’s first name is Edward, but where’s the fun in that? I can just imagine a really snobbish, self-important cat called Rochester that thinks he’s better than all the other cats. The name just works.

Cat: Gansey from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater 

tumblr_o5o094jllb1r7vmnbo1_500

I love the name Gansey for a cat, even though Gansey’s full name is Richard Campbell Gansey III. There must be something about pompous names that just work well for a cat.

Bird: Kilgharrah from Merlin

greatdragonkilgharrah

I think it would be awesome to name a pet bird after a fictional dragon. The little bird will think it’s so powerful with a name like Kilgharrah.

This was an awesome topic and really made me think! Do you have a favourite fictional name you’ve always wanted to name something after? Let me know and get involved in T10T!

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday

  1. Pingback: thebookcorps

Leave a Reply

