If you like that, try these … Vampire Academy

Hi all!

Welcome to another post of If you like that, try these …, my fortnightly post series where I share book (and sometimes movie or TV show) recommendations based on a book I’ve read. A new post comes out every second Thursday!

TODAY’S PICK IS …

Screen Shot 2018-10-04 at 8.53.42 pm

Screen Shot 2018-07-16 at 7.38.38 pmOnly a true best friend can protect you from your immortal enemies.

Screen Shot 2018-10-04 at 9.01.31 pm

What’s it about?

Two years ago, Rose, a dhampir (half-human, half-vampire), and her best friend Lissa (a Moroi, a mortal vampire), fled their boarding school in the middle of the night due to threats against Lissa’s life. Rose has pledged herself to protect Lissa forever, as Lissa is the last of the royal Dragomir clan. But now hey’ve been captured by other dhampirs are are forced to return to St Vladimir’s Academy, where the threats against Lissa triple. Together, Rose and Lissa must deal with romance, evil vampires called the Strigoi, and an unknown and legendary magic that is slowly driving Lissa insane, while death and danger follow them.

What are the themes/elements?

Friendship, romance, good vs. evil, death, the importance of duty, forbidden love, mental illness, insanity, social class and nobility, power and corruption, coming of age, freedom, selflessness, humour.

(CW: there is an underage romance in the novel. While nothing sexual ever happens until the MC is 18, her love interest is 24 and they do kiss while she is 17. This can be off-putting to readers, so please be warned.)

SO …

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 9.12.18 am

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 12.06.58 pm

61pfon8e70lWhat’s it about?

When a mysterious carriage crashes outside their castle, Laura and her father take care of the injured passenger, a young woman named Carmilla. Happy that she finally has a female friend her own age, Laura and Carmilla grow close to one another; but as their friendship grows, Carmilla’s personality begins to change and Laura begins to grow ill, experiencing nightmares. It’s not until Laura and her father set out on a trip to discover more about Carmilla that the truth reveals itself.

Why did I choose it?

You probably expected me to recommend Dracula and that was just too typical an answer. Not many people know about J. Sheridan Lefanu’s Carmilla. Carmilla was actually published before Dracula … and, friends, it’s about lesbian vampires. It’s about a young woman named Laura (hey! That’s me!) who is preyed upon by a female vampire named Carmilla. Carmilla frequently makes romantic advances towards Laura, but before that they have a deep friendship. The book is also about good vs evil and death.

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 12.36.50 pm

interviewWhat’s it about?

A vampire named Louis sits down to an interview with a journalist and tells the man about his immortal life. Louis recounts how he unwittingly became a vampire at the hands of the sinister Lestat. Along the way, he meets a young child named Claudia, whom he turns into a vampire to save her from death. Trapping Claudia in the body of a child as she mentally grows into a woman, Louis and Claudia form an alliance together against their leader, Lestat, and attempt to leave him and find their own kind — a society of vampires.

Why did I choose it?

I chose Interview with the Vampire (because it’s my favourite vampire novel) because it has all the same elements as Vampire Academy. Yeah, one’s a YA romance but Interview with the Vampire also deals a lot with friendshipgood vs evil (in the form of Louis not wanting to hurt people as a vampire, contrasted with Lestat who revels in pain), forbidden loveinsanitysocial class and nobilitypower and corruption and wanting to be free to live your own life.

 

Screen Shot 2018-08-13 at 4.40.09 pm

5181655What’s it about?

In 1981, the body of a teenage boy is found, emptied of blood, in a small town in Sweden, believed to be part of a ritual killing. Twelve-year-old Oskar is intrigued, but then a new girl moves next door to him. There’s something wrong with her, something odd — especially because she only comes out at night. But Oskar is drawn to her.

Why did I choose it?

I chose this book because the vampires in Let the Right One In and kind of remnant of the Strigoi in Vampire Academy. But more than that, the friendship between Oskar and Eli, the girl next door, is certainly similar to Rose and Lissa’s. It’s a protective, co-dependent relationship, with Eli being super protective of Oskar, while Rose is super protective of Lissa. Let the Right One In is a coming of age novel that also features the idea of freedom, and being free of the life you’re stuck in, as well as the idea of good vs evil.

 

Screen Shot 2018-10-04 at 9.21.21 pm

de7311689e4f1b22e4810afd26276aadWhat’s it about?

Viago, Deacon and Vladislav are vampires living in modern New Zealand, discovering that modern life is not as easy as they thought. Dealing with paying rent, doing their chores, trying to get into nightclubs, and overcoming conflicts with roommates is part of their daily (nightly) life, as a documentary crew follows them around.

Why did I choose it?

So this movie is very, very humorous, much like Vampire Academy can be, especially through Rose. I also chose this movie because it features vampires living in the modern world, just trying to deal with normal life, a lot like Vampire Academy does. While Rose is dealing with a lot of supernatural stuff, she’s also a normal teenage girl who’s falling in love for the first time, and gets into fights with her best friends, a lot like Viago and his friends do. The movie focuses on friendship.

 

Screen Shot 2018-08-13 at 5.06.01 pm

12813630What’s it about?

Tana lives in a world where cities called Coldtowns exist, entire cities where quarantined monsters and humans mingle together, the humans, more often than not, being prey. But once you enter a coldtown, you can never leave. One morning after a party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only survivors of the massacre is her ex-boyrfriend, who has been infected, and a mysterious boy with a terrible secret. Tana knows the only way to save them is by going into the heart of Coldtown.

Why did I choose it?

I chose this book because, like Vampire AcademyThe Coldest Girl in Coldtown it features vampires in a modern setting, with technology and normal life. Rose is also a lot like Tana: they’re both massive badasses, both very brave, and super capable. They both feel like they need to care for people and support everyone, usually to the detriment of themselves.

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 7.12.50 pm

18210707What’s it about?

In New York, there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and the slayers. And there exists a secret band of brothers: six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. But Wrath, the leader of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, is the most violent. The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath is determined to destroy the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But when one of his most trusted warriors is killed, leaving his half-breed daughter behind, unaware of her identity, Wrath sets out to help her.

Why did I choose it?

This is the first book in the massive Black Dagger Brotherhood series, and I chose it due to the romance. The romance between Wrath and Beth is a little remnant of Dimitri and Rose’s relationship. While Wrath is violent and relishes in killing, Dimitri doesn’t (but in book four he certainly does), but even so it’s a protective romance. Wrath and Dimitri both really care for their partners and do anything to protect them. The book also features the importance of duty and forbidden love. 

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 12.10.03 pm

3566345What’s it about?

Claire Danvers is a freshman at college in the mysterious town of Morganville. She’s at college two years before she’s supposed to be there, because she’s incredibly smart, and she heads off-campus to stay in an old house with three roommates, after a nightmare roommate at college. But her new roommates are, despite being super protective of her, pretty strange. And things get even more strange once Claire learns the secret about Morganville.

Why did I choose it?

I chose this book because it’s a lot like Vampire Academy. It has incredibly similar themes including friendship, romance, forbidden love, power and corruption, coming of age, and freedom. Claire is probably more like Lissa, in that they start off shy and sweet, but they have a hidden strength about them.

 

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 6.51.19 pm

AND THERE WE HAVE IT: IF YOU LIKE THE VAMPIRE ACADEMY SERIES BY RICHELLE MEAD, THEN TRY THOSE SEVEN RECOMMENDATIONS! 

Do you know of any other similar books or shows/movies that I didn’t mention? What books would you like to see me discuss next time? Let me know!

16 thoughts on “If you like that, try these … Vampire Academy

  1. littlebookynook says:

    Omg What We Do In The Shadows is one of my favourite movies ever!!!! It is just the funniest movie. I didn’t actually know that Let The Right One In was a book first! I have seen the movie and I really liked it (the Swedish one, not the American one). Great post!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thebookcorps says:

      Yes What We Do in the Shadows is hilarious!! I love Taika Waititi so much! Yes Let the Right One In was a book first! I read it in high school immediately after watching the movie with friends. The book is even creepier as it has heaps of scenes and plot points that the movie leaves out. Lmao I kinda refuse to watch the American one. I hate how American companies remake international films. it’s stupid

      Liked by 1 person

  2. emmareadstoomuch says:

    oooh i love love love Vampire Academy! i’ve been meaning to reread it for ages now – & now i have a whole plethora of recs for when i finally do that. great post – i love this series of yours!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dreamingofcats says:

    Carmilla! I forgot that the popular youtube series was based on a classic novel. I did start the Morganville series and enjoyed a couple books, but I think I didn’t bother going back for more because I shipped the main character with someone other than who the author was clearly making endgame and it was too annoying for me, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thebookcorps says:

      I didn’t know that Carmilla was a YouTube series! I’m going to have to look it up! Who did you ship Claire with in Morganville Vampires? I always loved her and Shane but low-key shipped her with Myrnin for a little bit.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. dreamingofcats says:

    it is! it’s the first youtube series I watched, and at first it was kinda weird til you get used to the format – it’s all filmed in a girl’s dorm room, lol, so not a lot of scenery change, but the characters were so interesting and LESBIAN VAMPIRE ROMANCE, yo. I will take it!

    ahaha, yes, it was Myrnin indeed! I just looked up the series overview and I think I must have read a few books because it looks like he wasn’t introduced until book 3? and there was some heavy subtext with him and Claire that was apparently in books 5/6, so must’ve been after that I gave up. I knew it was halfway through the series, I just didn’t remember the series was 13 books long so my estimate of 3 should’ve been 6, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s