If you like that, try these … The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Hi all!

Welcome to another post of If you like that, try these …, my fortnightly post series where I share book (and sometimes movie or TV show) recommendations based on a book I’ve read. A new post comes out every second Thursday!

TODAY’S PICK IS …

 

Screen Shot 2018-09-01 at 1.37.10 pm

 

“It is an old maxim of mine that when you have excluded the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.”

 

9781847496164What’s it about?

A collection of Sherlock Holme’s twelve best adventures, including A Scandal in Bohemia, The Speckled Band, The Red-Headed League, The Blue Carbuncle, The Five Orange Pips and The Man with the Twisted Lip. In these stories, Holmes and Watson have to deal with the only woman that has ever beaten Holmes, a killer that leaves no clues, a secret society, a missing diamond, the KKK, and the dangerous side of London’s opium rings.

What are the themes/elements?

Admiration, cleverness, crime, cunning, deceiving appearances, drugs and alcohol, judgement, logic, mystery, observation, queer subtext, respect, short stories, society and class, truth versus fiction.

So…

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 9.12.18 am

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 12.09.29 pm

816167What’s it about?

Precious Ramotswe just opened up a female detective agency in Botswana when she’s hired to track down a missing husband, uncover a con man, and find a runaway daughter. But the case that calls to her the most is that of a kidnapped eleven-year-old boy.

Why did I choose it?

The first book in the widely successful No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency is definitely remnant of Sherlock Holmes’ adventures. Mma Ramotswe’s strange and intriguing cases are just as mysterious as a Holmesian case, but set in the heart of modern-day Gaborone in Botswana. But Mma Ramotswe isn’t as cold as Holmes: she’s loving and warm; that being said, she doesn’t take no for an answer and always saves the day.

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 1.34.31 pm

22535533What’s it about?

Days after Sherlock Holmes and his nemesis James Moriarty fall into the Reichenback, Frederick Chase, a senior detective, arrives in Switzerland bringing a warning: Moriarty’s death has left a vacancy in the criminal underworld and a fiendish mastermind is ready to take his place. Chase and inspector Athelney Jones who is a devoted student of Holmes’ detective methods, join forces in pursuit of a man who is staked to be Moriarty’s successor.

Why did I choose it?

The first reason I chose this book is because Anthony Horowitz was officially authorised by the Conan Doyle estate to write Sherlock Holmes novels, and while this book doesn’t necessarily feature the man of the hour, it does detail his detective cunning and methods in an authoritative way.  Chase and Jones also have a very Holmes-Watson relationship based on mutual admiration and respect, while the novel features all the classic elements found in a Holmes novel: crimeclevernesslogic, and observation.

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 7.12.50 pm

34680762What’s it about?

Robert Caldwell has been Simon Feximal’s assistant and chronicler for twenty years: he’s dutifully recorded all of his and Caldwell’s ghost-hunting adventures into famous books. But Caldwell is sick of living a lie and wants to record the true nature of his and Feximal’s relationship and magical adventures, only to be shared after his death. And that is that they were in a relationship together.

Why did I choose it?

Aside from the fact that this is one of my favourite books ever, it is also written very similarly to The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. Like The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, The Secret Casebook of Simon Feximal features a collection of short stories of Caldwell and Feximal’s cases — although with a magical twist — and, like Watson, Caldwell chronicles their adventures in a novel. The Secret Casebook of Simon Feximal also plays with the idea of truth versus fiction, in that Caldwell and Feximal have to hide their relationship, and brings out the queer subtext from the original stories.

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 12.09.46 pm

2732977

What’s it about?

Mikael Blomkvist, a crusading journalist who’s about to be sued, is hired to find out what happened to Harriet Vanger, a scion of one of the wealthiest families in Sweden, almost forty years ago by her uncle who is convinced she was murdered. Lisbeth Salander, a twenty-four-year-old genius hacker, assists Blomkvist with the investigation — and she has her own reasons for doing so.

Why did I choose it?

I chose this book because it reminds me of a darker version of Sherlock Holmes. Holmes’ cases are usually fun and intriguing, while this novel, and the series, is terrifying and has you on the very edge of your seat. Regardless, Lisbeth reminds me of a female version of Sherlock: she’s cold, logical, incredibly intelligent, very observant, and cunning. The mystery of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is also confusing and intriguing, like a Holmes novel.

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-27 at 5.09.23 pm

5614d2f1720b0beb37819834b8ed69c0

What’s it about?

Disgraced private consultant Sherlock Holmes has fled London and is living in Manhattan after rehab. His father has hired a sober companion to live with him named Dr Joan Watson, a former surgeon who’s medical license was revoked after a patient died under her care. She now cares for addicts, but Sherlock has other plans for them as he throws them into consulting with the police in New York City on cases.

Why did I choose it?

I’m sure some of you are wondering why I didn’t choose the BBC Sherlock series and I’ll tell you why: it’s overrated. Elementary, on the other hand, is refreshing and fun, while it also tackles really important topics, such as drug addiction. I also love the fact that Joan is a woman of colour, and I love her and Sherlock’s friendship. Elementary also features the typical Holmesian elements, but with modern twists. My favourite character in this series is Moriarty!

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 12.10.03 pm

1618What’s it about?

Fifteen-year-old Christoper John Francis Boone has Aspergers, and relates more to animals than humans. He also doesn’t like to be touched and has a very logical way of looking at the world. One day a neighbour’s dog is killed and his carefully constructed world is threatened. So Christopher sets out to solve the murder, following in the footsteps of his favourite detective Sherlock Holmes, and along the way, makes some personal discoveries.

Why did I choose it?

I chose this novel because Sherlock and Christopher are so very similar: they’re both incredibly logical and don’t seem to understand human emotions that well. A lot of people — including scholars — believe that Sherlock might have had Aspergers syndrome or another form of autism, and the fact that Christopher relates so well to him says a lot. There’s also the added mystery of what happened to the dog, and a secret mystery that is right beneath the surface.

 

Screen Shot 2018-09-04 at 5.17.15 pm

tumblr_p0ro3zqikt1s908xuo1_500What’s it about?

Ryan Bergara tells his friend, Shane Madej, unsolved mysteries, including true crime and supernatural. They follow the crime or supernatural occurrence and posit theories about what happened — but never solve the case.

Why did I choose it?

I chose this series because 1. I love it so much, Ryan and Shane are incredible, and 2. because I feel like Sherlock would have loved this series and/or tried to solve the unsolvable cases. All of the cases Ryan and Shane discuss, including the supernatural ones, are so intriguing and Ryan presents the case with such thoughtful detail — he develops the mysteries so wonderfully, you’re hooked and you’ll be bingeing the entire series.

Watch the true crime episodes here, and watch the supernatural episodes here. Oh, and don’t forget to watch Shane’s amazing series, Ruining History!

 

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 6.51.19 pm

AND THERE WE HAVE IT: IF YOU LIKE THE ADVENTURES OF Sherlock Holmes BY ARTHUR CONAN DOYLE, THEN TRY THOSE SEVEN RECOMMENDATIONS! 

DO YOU KNOW OF ANY OTHER SIMILAR BOOKS OR SHOWS/MOVIES THAT I DIDN’T MENTION? WHAT BOOKS WOULD YOU LIKE TO SEE ME DISCUSS NEXT TIME? LET ME KNOW!

7 thoughts on “If you like that, try these … The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

  1. jamishelves says:

    I LOVE THIS. And big agree, BBC sherlock is overrated and Elementary is iconic. Moriarty sounds so good! I might look into that. Buzzfeed Unsolved another great choice. Have you read A Study in Charlotte? I think it’s a pretty fun twist on the Holmes stories, especially in terms of worldbuilding and the Watson/Moriarty/Holmes family branches

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s