If you like that, try these … Captive Prince

Hi all!

Welcome to another post of If you like that, try these …, my weekly post series where I share book (and sometimes movie or TV show) recommendations based on a book I’ve read. A new post comes out every Thursday!

Today’s pick is …

Screen Shot 2018-06-21 at 8.55.54 pm

 

“To get what you want, you have to know exactly how much you are willing to give up.”

captive-prince

What’s it about?

The series follows Prince Damen, rightful heir to the throne of Akielos, after his half-brother seizes the throne and ships him off to an enemy country as a slave to their Prince. Keeping his identity a secret, Damen has to navigate dangerous court life in the first book and then protect the one person who has more reason than anyone to want him dead in the second book: the cold and ruthless Prince Laurent, who’s brother Damen killed.

What are the themes/elements?

Queer fiction (m/m), bisexual protagonist, slavery/slave country, political machinations, enemies to lovers, royalty, deception, unreliable narrator, homosexual society as the norm, slow-burn romance, plot twists.
TW: pedophilia (off page); rape (off page); sexual assault (on page);

So …

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 9.12.18 am

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 7.09.01 pm

thefoxholecourtWhat’s it about?

The three-book series follows Neil Josten, a young man on the run from his past – specifically, his violent, mafia-connected father. But he’s tired of running, so he accepts a sports scholarship to a university to play Exy, and there, the boy who has always been taught to never make connections with anyone, finds a family.
TW: drug use, off-page and on-page rape, off-page pedophilia, murder, violence, torture.

Why did I choose it?

Despite the trigger warnings, this book series is really book but I totally understand if someone would be wary of it. The reason I chose it as a recommendation for Captive Prince is because Neil, like Damen, hides his identity and deceives his friends in order to protect himself and them. It also features an m/m romance, one that also develops from enemies to lovers.

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 12.07.50 pm

74270

What’s it about?

The Nightrunner series follows young Alec of Kerry, a sixteen-year-old boy who becomes the apprentice of sort-of thief, sort-of hero Seregil of Rhiminee. Together, they commit many crimes, work with wizards to protect the throne, and fall in love along the way.

Why did I choose it?

Although I’ve only read the first book in this series, it’s already become a favourite and I see many similarities to the Captive Prince series. First of all, the society in this series is a homosexual one: bisexual and gay people are the norm, and are not forced to love in the shadows. It’s also an m/m romance (I believe that starts in the second novel), and there are political machinations galore … except with magic!

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 12.36.50 pm

112077

What’s it about?

Beginning in 1547, Francis Crawford of Lymond returns to his native Scotland which is threatened by invasion from the English. When he’s accused of treason, Lymond leads a band of outlaws to restore his reputation and save Scotland.

Why did I choose it?

If you don’t know, The Lymond Chronicles greatly inspired C.S. Pacat’s Captive Prince series … in fact, Laurent is even based off of Lymond! That being said, this series features a whole heap of political machinations, an aristocrat returning to save his country from war, and a bisexual protagonist. I couldn’t not include this series when it’s so very like Captive Prince (or is that the other way around?)

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-21 at 8.05.18 pm

3386492

What’s it about?

General Dieter von Adolwulf, the most feared general in Kria, takes a nameless assassin as his prisoner when the man – later named Beraht – kills hundreds of his soldiers. Stuck together, Dieter and Beraht are forced to travel to an enemy country when Dieter is accused of treason.

Why did I choose it?

So Megan Derr is a pretty problematic author (in that she’s made some shitty comments about whom m/m romance is for), but dear god this book is good. (I read it years ago.) The political machinations are so interesting, and the magic system very intriguing. It also follows a enemies to lovers romance and the sloooooooooowest romance burn I’ve ever read – much slower than Captive Prince. The society is also one that is predominately homosexual (in Illusor, the enemy country).

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 1.34.31 pm

8913370

What’s it about?

Sue Trinder, an orphan, is given the chance to become rich when an aristocratic gentleman pulls her into his plot to marry an heiress and have her committed to an insane asylum to steal her fortune.

Why did I choose it?

I chose this novel because it’s plot twist upon plot twist upon plot twist, much like Captive Prince. The romance is between Sue and the girl she’s attempting to steal her fortune from, Maud. Their romance is a little like enemies to lovers, although Sue forces herself to hate Maud to help herself betray Maud. The romance is also a very long slow-burn, but the payoff is definitely worth it. It also features hiding their identity in order to protect oneself … no spoilers.    

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 7.12.50 pm

22889281

What’s it about?

Doctor Nikolai Hartmann, haunted by his past and running from it, travels to the dying King of Hesse-Davia’s bedside to offer his expertise, and once there, he falls for the beautiful, arrogant Prince Aleksey. But, with the coming of the Reformation, Aleksey wants to change his superstitious country … which proves dangerous and deadly.

Why did I choose it?

I chose this book because, again, there’s a lot of political machinations and attempting to reform a country (like Damen and Laurent want to do, too). There’s a lot of dancing around feelings – a nice slow-burn – but the romance is, at heart, quite sweet and lovely … like Damen and Laurent’s romance is. Aleksey is a little like Laurent, in that he comes across as arrogant and bratty at the beginning.

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 12.10.03 pm

6ofcrowsWhat’s it about?

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekkar puts together a team of outcasts – a thief, a convict, a sharpshooter, a runaway, a spy and a Heartrender – to pull off a deadly heist that will make all of them richer beyond their wildest dreams. Set in the same world as The Grisha trilogy.

Why did I chose it?

I chose this duology because, although it’s set in a magical world, it definitely has the same feel as Captive Prince: there’s a lot of political machinations, a whole cast of LGBTQ+ characters, as many plot twists as you can imagine, slow-burn romances, and many betrayals and deceptions. Katz Brekkar’s personality is also a lot like Prince Laurent’s.

Screen Shot 2018-05-29 at 5.10.45 pm

And there we have it: if you like the Captive Prince series by C.S. Pacat, try those seven recommendations! 

Do you know of any other similar books that I didn’t mention? What books would you like to see me discuss next time? Let me know!

7 thoughts on “If you like that, try these … Captive Prince

  1. Faith says:

    I just finished The Captive Prince series and I was looking for more books like that, then I stumbled across your page! I love your website, I’m hooked!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s