book tag

The Harry Potter Book Tag!

hp

Hi all!

You’re probably going to be seeing quite a few tags from me in the next few weeks, only because I’m so behind on them and thought I better hurry up and do them already! So thank you to Jasmine @ How Useful It Is for tagging me in this awesome tag! Sorry it’s taken me so long. Everyone please go check out Jasmine’s awesome blog. She posts wonderful reviews and it such an awesome person to interact with ❤

The Harry Potter Book Tag was created by Trang and Lashaan @ Bookidote and all graphics belong to them.

hp2

A book you found the theme interesting, but you’d like to rewrite it.

firstlife

This book has such an interesting concept – two realms of afterlifes battling in an eternal war to garner the most souls – but it was poorly executed. That is due to the protagonist and the terrible writing. The main character, Ten, is a hypocrite every five pages and has the worst case of insta-love I’ve seen in a while, and the writing makes it sound as if she is like her name suggests: ten years old.

The first book in a series that got you hooked.

shadowandbone

I read this book and the subsequent series only last year, and I remember after I had finished reading Shadow and Bone, that I just sat still for five minutes thinking, wow, that was epic. I really love this series and this first book got me hooked immediately.

hp4

A book you wish you could have right now.

thegentlemans

When I say I need this book right now, I mean RIGHT THIS SECOND. I have been trying to get an ARC of this book for months, but no one will give me one 😥 I already know I’m going to love it based upon the first four chapters that have been released thus far.

hp5

A killer book. Both senses. Take it as you like.

LM_cover

I loved this book and it was made even better by the awesomely large cast. Emma was a badass Shadowhunter who I want to be my new best friend. Bring on Lord of Shadows this month!

hp6

A book that you found really confusing.

6101718

I tried reading this book last year and read about 300-and-something pages before I had to give up. I genuinely had no idea what was happening – in fact, nothing was happening. This book is marketed as Harry Potter for adults, but trust me when I say it most definitely is not.

hp7

Your spirit animal book.

pride-and-prejudice_bn

If you follow my blog, you know I don’t just love this book, I ADORE THIS BOOK. I actually collect this novel and have 12 copies of it as of now. My little brother is travelling in Italy at the moment, and told me that he has bought me an Italian copy. I can’t wait to see it!

hp8

A dark twisted book.

fromhell

If you haven’t read this 600 page graphic novel, then what are you doing with your life? Alan Moore’s incredible graphic novel about Jack the Ripper is the most twisted, violent, and cringe-worthy book I have read to this day, and I love it. When I first read it, I read it in one sitting and woke my sister up at 3 in the morning to tell her about it. She did not appreciate it as much as I did. If you come across this novel somewhere, pick it up and read it ASAP.

hp9

A book that surprised you in a great way, reveals more than it is.

11250317

I knew I would really enjoy this book, but I didn’t expect to fall in love with it so much and have it briefly take over my life. It’s so lovely, romantic and full of angst, I couldn’t put it down.

hp10

Maxine @ The Rogue Storyteller
Tiana @ The Book Raven
Danielle @ Books, Vertigo and Tea
Silvia @ Silvia Reads Books
Casey @ Adopt a Book Aus
Beth @ Reading Every Night
Sam @ River Moose Books
Lynne @ Fictionophile
Gretchen @ Chic Nerd Reads
Ashley @ Inside My Minds
Anj @ Seaweed Books

Hope you have fun completing the tag! Don’t feel obligated to do it. I’ve also started tagging some new people I haven’t spoken much to yet! 😀

-Laura ❤

Advertisements

41 thoughts on “The Harry Potter Book Tag!

  1. You and I seem to share the same opinion when it comes to Pride and Prejudice. That book gives me life. I have three copies, one rather tattered because it has been read so many times. I’d be rather intrigued to know what the Italian title is since one of my other copies is French and is translated as Orgueil et Prejugée, and I reckon it wouldn’t be too dissimilar. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg yay, another P&P fan! That book gives me life. Oh wow a French copy! that sounds amazing. In Italian it’s Orgoglio e Pregiudizio – you’re right it’s very similar!
      My plan is to purchase a copy of the novel in every city I visit as sort of a momento !

      Like

      1. That’s a great kind of momento. I suppose that’s what my French copy is in a sense because I picked that up when I was living in France a few years ago.

        If you want another tag, I created a P&P tag a couple of months ago that you are welcome to do and share! I’ll have to go back and find the link though.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad I’m not the only one! I DNF’d really close to the end. Just couldn’t do it anymore. Not good at all – still don’t see how people compare it to Harry Potter! Shame because the show was is good too

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This seems like such a fun tag and I loved reading your answers! I definitely agree with Shadow and Bone!!! After I finished it, I was so shaken and I needed like a minute to compose myself but then I immediately continued with the second book in the series! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shadow and Bone!! Yes!! I agree 🙂 and I really need to read Lady Midnight 🙂 Afterlife’s cover looks so cool though.. I’m glad to know it’s not a priority to read it 🙂 Awesome answers and thanks for the shout out!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great answers, Laura! The Grisha series is one of those that lived up to its hype, I was so hooked and didn’t know what to do with my life once I finished it XD
    I don’t know why The Magicians would be marketed as HP for adults since HP is already for adults… I mean, anyone can appreciate it at any age, in my opinion.
    I just don’t like when publishers use the “if you liked x, you’ll enjoy this one” – just feels like a deceiving tactic because, more often than not, it is an absolute lie and people actually buy the book on that promise!
    I’ll check out those first few chapters of The Gentleman’s Guide now. Thanks for the rec 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sophie!
      I love the Grisha series so much, and you’re right, it does live up to its hype. I’ve been thinking about rereading it soon too.
      That annoys me too! I can’t remember which book it was, but there was a massive quote on the front that said something like, “For fans of Sarah J. Maas, Cassandra Clare, Stephenie Meyer..” and just kept listing like 3 more authors. I was like, “Okay, staying away from that book that’s too strange.”
      Oh I hope you like the chapters! I’m already hooked (actually I was hooked the moment the author released the blurb last year) and can’t wait to read it! 😀

      Like

  5. Thanks so much for the tag, and oh I loved reading your answers for this one. I’ve heard so many amazing things about Lady Midnight, I really want to be able to read that book for myself but I have to get through the rest of Clare’s Shadowhunter books before I can. Also I loved The Song of Achilles, it was such a heartbreaking book but an amazing one at the same time.
    Again thanks for the tag! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s