book tag

Totally Should’ve Book Tag!

Hi all!

Thank you so much to Sophie @ Blame Chocolate for tagging me in this! Everyone please go check out her wonderful blog here. Sophie is such an amazing person to talk to and she posts fantastic reviews ❤


Totally Should’ve Gotten a Sequel 

jellicoe

This book. This is one of my absolute favourite books and I need to know what happened to my beloved characters after the book is over. Story time: I was so obsessed with this book, that I emailed the author when I was in high school, begging for a sequel. She declined 😥

Totally Should’ve Gotten a Spin-off Series

gameofthronesbooks

Although I highly doubt it will happen, George R.R. Martin needs to write a prequel to his A Song of Ice and Fire series about Prince Rhaegar Targaryen, Lyanna Stark and Robert Baratheon. It would be amazing.

An Author That Totally Should Write More Books

176372

Madeline Miller, author of The Song of Achilles. I adored TSOA, so much so that it is one of my all-time favourite novels. Miller needs to write more books ASAP – and faster please!

(I did see on her Goodreads page that she is writing a sort-of sequel to TSOA featuring the witch Circe – and presumably Odysseus, then – and all I can say is, about time girl!)
A Character That Totally Should’ve Ended Up with Someone Else

Admittedly, I never read the second book and I probably never will, but I did find out that Elias ends up with Laia and I am super pissed. They are not a good couple and there is absolutely zero chemistry between them. He should have gotten with Helene.

Totally Should’ve Ended Differently 

halflost2

I HATED this ending! It totally ruined the entire series for me. I am still not over that unnecessary death which served absolutely no purpose. The epilogue was pure disappointment, too. #nevergonnagetoverit

Totally Should’ve Had a Movie Franchise

download (1)

I can’t say Gay Harry Potter fast enough.

Totally Should’ve Had Only One Point of View 

27774758

I said this in my review as well, but Laia should not have been in this book. While her character goes through some modicum of development, her storyline was quite boring and it wasn’t even until two thirds of the way through do Laia and Elias’s stories correlate. Also, when they meet, it’s almost insta-love, which I abhor. This book would have been so much better if it were just about Elias surviving the trials and then becoming Emperor – which would have been awesome.

Totally Should’ve Had a Cover Change 

21367647

This is the cover for the Australian version of TSOA, which I have, and I hate it! It makes the book look like a somewhat philosophical contemporary, when it is definitely not. That being said, the other covers aren’t that nice either:

This book needs a new cover immediately.

Totally Should’ve Kept the Original Covers

I don’t like the new Mortal Instruments covers! I just don’t. I don’t like that the titles are bigger than the image and I don’t like the colour order when you put them together. I know the original covers are nothing to look at either, but they hold a special place in my heart – especially the last two (look how pretty they are!).

Totally Should’ve Stopped at Book One

empire-of-thrones-uk

Maybe not book one, but this series definitely should not have progressed to six books. It would have been far better as a trilogy – or even a quartet. Maas is just adding unnecessary stories and characters to an already over-complicated plot and world. This book finally showed me that Maas has well and truly lost it with her TOG series. Enough is enough.

I TAG: 

Dominique @ Pirates and Pixie Dust || Casey @ Adopt A Book Aus || Kimberley @ Lives Well Read || Beth @ Reading Every Night || Melissa @ Book Nerd Momo

Hope you guys have fun completing the tag (sorry if you’ve been tagged before) !!

-Laura ❤

19 thoughts on “Totally Should’ve Book Tag!

  1. I’ve heard about Jellicoe Road, but never read it. I suppose I’ll need to check it out some time soon.
    I also totally agree that Throne of Glass should have finished early than it has. But the time I got to the last released book, it just seemed to drag on pointlessly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you get a chance to read Jellicoe Road. It’s incredible!!
      Funny that you say that, because Empire of Storms is what made me realise how much she had dragged the series out. I’m still going to read the last book because I got this far I might as well. But yeah, half of the books are actually pointless.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for the shout out, Laura! ❤
    I completely agree with you on An Ember in the Ashes… Laia was somewhat boring and just an overall nuisance. She definitely got better later on but still. I get that the author was trying to make the books balanced and have two types of protagonists but I really couldn't connect with her as much as I wished. I still haven't read the sequel (I skipped A Character That Totally Should’ve Ended Up with Someone Else so as to not spoil myself hahaha) but I have a feeling my OTP will not ship… Sigh.
    Also totally agree with you on Throne of Glass! Should have stopped at book two or three, in my opinion.
    Great tag and great choices! ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome!! it’s all true 😀
      Yeah An Ember in the Ashes is so disappointing. I heard that the author is writing 2 more books as well. I don’t think I’m ever going to like that series. Oh well.
      TOG will forever annoy me. I’m still going to read the last book though, lol.
      Thank you ❤

      Like

  3. I believe that A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms (A Song of Ice and Fire) is a set of prequels to Song of Ice and Fire if I understand correctly? I haven’t read it yet so do not quote me. I almost picked it up a week ago. Nothing would surprise me with GRRM haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the Dunk and Egg series are set before the fall of the Targaryens. I tried reading the short stories a while ago and couldn’t really get into them. I want to know more about Rhaegar and Lyanna!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! TSOA is one of my all time favourite books. I do know some people found it slow, but I love slow books with really well-developed characters and TSOA is definitely like that. The romance is so beautiful and wonderfully tragic – you will need tissues. Go in with an open mind and I don’t see why you won’t love it !! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

