book tag

Goodreads Book Tag!

I am addicted to Goodreads.

Whenever I open up my laptop and pull up my social media accounts, I immediately gravitate towards Goodreads before anything else – even WordPress! I love looking up books, posting reviews, and interacting with the awesome people on there.

I’m so excited to be tagged in a Goodreads book tag considering how much I love that site. Thank you so much to Mandy @ Book Princess Reviews for tagging me! Everyone please go check out her amazing blog here. If you love Disney (like me), you’ll definitely love Mandy’s blog!


What was the last book you marked as read?

Lessons in Cartography by crazy_like_a. It’s an online work of fiction, not a book, but it has a Goodreads account so I’m counting it. It doesn’t have a cover (unfortunately). The book is a fan-fic of Nora Sakavic’s All for the Game series. Even though this was written by someone other than the author, I’m almost hesitant to call it fan-fiction as the author, crazy_like_a, gained all her information and world-building from the answers Sakavic posted on her blog about the future of the Foxes. So, in a way, Lessons in Cartography works as the series’ unofficial fourth book. A MUST READ if you are a Foxes fan.

What are you currently reading?

I’ve had A Gathering of Shadows sitting on my shelf for an entire year. I purchased it straight after I finished reading A Darker Shade of Magic in January 2016 (yeah, 2016, not 2017). I haven’t had a chance to read it, and I am determined that I will some point in March.
I’m also reading an ARC of Strange the Dreamer which is amazing so far!

What do you plan to read next?

I have ARCs of these books patiently waiting to be read. I’m so excited for The Upside of Unrequited. Everyone who has read it has so far loved it.
Also, I read Cindy Anstey’s first novel, so I’m hoping Duels and Deception will be just as good.

Do you use the star rating system?

Yes, I do! However, unlike Goodreads, I include half-star ratings! They need to inlcude half-stars ASAP! I feel like I’m not rating the book correctly.

Are you doing a 2017 reading challenge?

2017readingchallege

Heck yes! I always do the Goodreads challenge. I set myself a goal of 50 books each year, and I can usually surpass it. It looks like I’ll surpass this year’s one too.

Do you have a wishlist?

Yes, I even have a Goodreads shelf entitled ‘wishlist.’ These are the books I want the most right now:

What do you plan to buy next?

These books are still a few months away from being published, but I’m on a book buying restriction at the moment. I only buy books that are in a pre-existing series, or books I desperately need like The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue. I don’t buy a book when I’m in a store and I stumble on a book I happened to see on Goodreads the night before, and am curious about. That’s what a library is for (for me anyway. I’m a poor Grad student).

Do you have any favourite quotes?

quote-oscar-wilde-i-can-resist-everything-except-temptation-88458

Who are your favourite authors?

In no particular order: Jane Austen, Cassandra Clare, C.S. Pacat, Rick Riordan, Alan Moore, Leigh Bardugo, and sometimes Sarah J. Maas (this is dependant on her ACOTAR series, not Throne of Glass).

Have you joined any groups?

I just checked Goodreads and apparently I’m in 29 groups. I don’t remember joining 90% of them. The one I actually participate in is Captivated, a group where fans of C.S. Pacat’s Captive Prince series can come together and talk about it.


I tag:  

Steph @ Teacher of YA / Danielle @ Books, Vertigo and Tea / Reg @ She Latitude /
Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews / Maya @ Book Dragon 1017


Hope you guys have fun completing the tag!!

-Laura ❤

16 thoughts on “Goodreads Book Tag!

    1. Thank you! I can’t believe it either. It’s magic – and I had 3 weeks off from work lol. I know people on Goodreads who have read over 40 – that’s actual magic. 12 is still a good number – its a normal number lol! I love Oscar Wilde too!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I used to be so addicted to Goodreads. It’s so intense and amazing. Lovely Wilde quote – that man kills at quotes.Literally everything he says could just go on a lovely text box. And I’ll be reading Duels and Deceptions too, so I can’t wait to see your thoughts. What did you think of her first book? Fantastic post and thanks so much for your kind words! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love Oscar Wilde! He was one of the best writers out there. Oh I hope you like Duels and Deceptions! I’m excited to read it 😀 I really enjoyed her first book. It reminded me a little of Pride and Prejudice but with spies lol. Did you enjoy it?? Thank you and you deserve it!! ❤

      Like

  2. You’ve read so many books already, that’s so awesome!! I hope you enjoy A Gathering of Shadows 😀 I’m glad to see you’re enjoying Strange The Dreamer, I really need to start my ARC.

    I’ve done this tag already, but I appreciate the thought so much ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

