blogger award

The Black Cat Blue Sea Award

Hi all!

I was nominated for The Black Cat Blue Sea Award by Angelica @thebookcovergirls. Thank you so much for nominating me, Angelica, it means the world to me! Everyone, please go check out Angelica and Rosie’s amazing blog here.


What is The Black Cat Blue Sea Award?

blackcat

“This award is for bloggers who strive to write for everybody, and no matter how many viewers they get, make an impact on a reader. This award is an expression of gratitude to the nominee. It should be awarded to anybody that you choose deserves it, and it doesn’t mean that they must have hundreds of followers and likes.”

Rules: 
  1. Anybody nominated can nominate eight other bloggers.
  2. The nominee answers three questions posed by the nominator.
  3. The questions you ask while nominating can be any three questions.
  4. If any of the questions asked are offensive or the nominee simply does not want to answer, the nominee does not have to answer them to earn the award.

Angelica’s Questions: 

If you could bring any fictional character to life who would it be and why?
This is a tough question because I have so many favourite fictional characters! I actually had to go through my “Ultimate Best” shelf on Goodreads to come up with an answer. I would have to choose Percy Jackson from Rick Riordan’s series. Percy would be such a great friend; in the novels, he frequently self-sacrifices and loves unconditionally. He would be an amazing person to have by your side, during both good and bad times. He’s terribly sweet, awkward, hilarious and a genuinely good person. I can imagine having so much fun with a friend like Percy.


What is the one book that you have reread more than any other? How many times have you read it? Why do you always go back to that one?
I absolutely adore Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. It is my favourite book of all time and has been for years. I first read it in 2011 (I believe) for a senior class in high school, and darcy2have since read it maybe 3 times a year. So 3 x 5 (years) = 15 times (maybe/probably more).
I never get tired of this book. There is just something about it that makes me want to go back to this beautiful and lovely world again and again (and this is coming from a feminist who despises the way women have been treated throughout history). I once read an essay that explained the effect Jane Austen has on people: her writing evokes feelings of nostalgia within us (perhaps a desire to return to a simpler time?) and the comical and parodic style is both amusing and warm. I have often said that reading a Jane Austen novel is like sitting down to coffee and talking with an old friend you haven’t seen in years. That’s why I keep returning to the enigmatic world of Pride and Prejudice. It is friendly and comfortable.
Also, Darcy.

If you could only read one author’s work for the rest of your life, which author would it be?
I am going to say a potentially scandalous name (as I know people have their issues with her) but I choose Cassandra Clare. I have been reading her novels ever since her second book, City of Ashes, was released in 2008. Story time: I was being stalked by her books. Every time I walked into a bookstore, City of Bones and Ashes was staring at me. Every time  I logged onto Goodreads, someone would be reading City of Bones or Ashes. It was getting ridiculous. Finally, I had had enough. In the middle of the Borders bookstore (which doesn’t exist anymore), I shouted, “Fine, I’ll read you!” Every one turned and looked at the crazy 14 year old girl in her school uniform, yelling at some books. I bought the two novels and fell in love with the amazing world Clare had created. I love the characters, the magic, the plot, everything. I know a lot of people are sick of Clare at the moment. She releases so many books set in the Shadowhunter universe, but I am not one of those people (I even wrote a blog post about it). I love her books and I will keep reading them until she is finished, which doesn’t look to be any time soon.


My questions:
  1. What is your favourite genre to read from? Why is it your favourite?
  2. Which author do you want to meet most and why? (Can be deceased)
  3. If you could visit one fictional universe/land, which would it be and why?

My nominees:

Stephanie @TeacherofYA

Danielle @Pretty Mess Reading

Kayla @Kdrewkthebookworm

Sophie @Blame It On Chocolate

Jasmine @How Useful It Is

Sarah @A Little Reader

Chad @Chad Reads

Laura @Reading Sanctuary

I hope you all have fun answering my questions!

-Laura ❤

11 thoughts on “The Black Cat Blue Sea Award

  1. First of all, congratulations on your award! And thanks so much for nominating me 🙂 I’ve already won this but I really appreciate you considering me ❤
    I agree, Percy would be an awesome person to have as a friend in real life! He's so sweet and awkward. But I don't know if he'd survive without Annabeth to keep him in check 😄
    I haven't actually read Pride and Prejudice yet (oops) nor any books by Cassandra Clare but people swear by them so maybe I'll try them one day 🙂
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Lol I feel like sooner or later we are all going to be nominated for the same awards 😀
      Hahah I totally agree, Percy would be nothing with Annabeth!
      Oh if you ever have the chance, please read P&P – it’s my all time favourite book, and I adore Clare’s books too.
      Thanks for commenting ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved your answers! I would totally bring Percy Jackson to life. Everything would be so much more fun with him in the real world.I may have my issues with Cassandra Clare but I did totally love the first 3 books in the Mortal Instruments. Those books were everywhere, it’s like the world was pushing me to read them. Also, if you choose her you probably won’t ever run out of books to read lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I love Percy, too, he’s the sweetest 😀 Yeah I know Clare has her issues, but I don’t read into them – as they say ignorance is bliss lol! I love her work and yes, you’re right, I’ll never run out of books ❤ thanks for commenting

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your story about Cassandra Clare’s books!! hahaha… I know what you mean about Borders Bookstore no longer around. I saw a sign of store closing near my job before. I have read her TID and I liked it. I have yet to read her other series. Jem was my guy in TID even though Will, such a mushy guy under the mean exterior.. haha.. Congrats on your award and thank you for nominating me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha thank you! Those books were driving me insane, I saw them everywhere and one day I just flipped!
      Awww, I miss Borders so much. I know we still have Dymocks but it’s not the same.
      I really enjoyed TID, but I love TMI more! Oh yes another Jem fan!! I love Jem more than Will and everyone judges me lol!
      Thank you and you’re welcome – you have such an awesome blog of course I was going to nominate you 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

