blogger award

The Liebster Award

Hi all!

I was nominated for the Liebster Award by the amazing Royal Reader! Thank you so much for nominating me, I had a great time putting this together. Please check out Royal Reader’s blog here!

liebsteraward1


The rules:
  1. Thank the person who nominated you and answer the 11 questions they’ve written for you.
  2. Nominate 11 people and give them 11 different questions to answer.

Royal Reader’s Questions:

Let’s start with an easy one: night owl or early bird?

Night owl for sure! It hits 1am and I’m still not even tired, but around 12pm I’m already falling asleep.

jon-daenerys-for-ew-jon-and-daenerys-33911400-500-300If you could visit one fictional land/world, which would it be and why? (e.g. Narnia, Wonderland, etc)

This was a difficult question to answer! After much pondering, I choose the world of A Song of Ice and Fire, created by George R.R. Martin. Yes, I doubt I would survive, but at least I would get the chance to meet Jon Snow or Daenerys Targaryen!!! Also the world just looks amazing and steeped in fascinating history.

What is the most beautiful place you’ve ever traveled to?

Edinburgh in Scotland! My sister and I traveled there in 2014 and I wish we could have spent our entire holiday there. Edinburgh is quite similar to London but more posh and friendly. The atmosphere is joyous and historic. I would recommend everyone visit this beautiful city if they get the chance. Just spending three days there was enough to inspire me to want to travel there again for an entire month!

If you were president for a day, what one thing would you implement?

I’m in Australia so I would be Prime Minister, but I would implement free education for all! Australia actually had free university under the Whitlam government during the 70s and early 80s. By 1989, free university education was abolished and in its place was HECS – the government pays your university degree for you and once you start earning above a certain wage, you pay them back in small increments. HECS is still a great idea, but nothing on free education!

imagesWhich song and/or movie reminds you most of your childhood?

The Swan Princess movie! I was obsessed with this movie when I was a child, and every time I see it on T.V., my heart aches and I get a little teary-eyed.

Would you rather be able to only watch movies or listen to music for the rest of your life? 

Although I love listening to music, there is no way I am missing out on the last phase of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, not to mention all of the future book to movie adaptations that will be created. Movies for sure!

What’s one super interesting fact about you?

I am a writer! I have been writing since I was 14 years old and have actually written a novel. It’s terrible, but that’s not the point. I have several novels waiting to be worked on, but at the moment, I am focusing on a YA fantasy about witches that spans four novels, and a m/m historical fantasy about a prince, with two sort-of sequels/tie-ins. I will finish these books one day!

If you had the option to travel to space, would you do it? Why/why not?

Yes, in a heart-beat. When NASA announced their plans to travel to Mars, I very nearly nominated myself. I even went so far as to download applications and info packs. However, I have no abilities that would assist in setting up a human colony on Mars – I mean, I’m a fast reader and a pretty good writer, but what good would that be among biologists and astrophysicists? If I could, I would go because of the adventure. Imagine being one of the first humans to colonize a planet? Your name would go down in history, and if you are familiar with my blog, you know I love history.

Do you believe in the supernatural/paranormal? If no, why? If yes, any stories?

In a sense, yes. I don’t believe there are demons running around and invading peoples bodies, but I do believe there is something greater than us.
Story time: I was born on the 10th of Feb, which is also the death date of my grandfather, who passed twenty years before I was born. The day I was born, my mother received a phone call at the hospital and the nurse relayed the message to her. The nurse said my mother’s father wanted to congratulate her on the birth of her daughter, Laura (me). My parents were incredibly confused as my mum’s dad had been dead for years, and she told the nurse the phone call must have been for someone else. The nurse said no, he even said the room number and mentioned his name, Giuseppe. Then the nurse left and my parents started freaking out. My mother believes the nurse was an angel (I don’t) but I do believe my grandfather – who died on the same date I was born many years ago – somehow send a message from the other-side to say hello.

coffee_and_books_by_bornhold-d6sgtb7What would your ideal day out be a) with friends, and b) by yourself?

With my friends, talking and perusing around a bookstore, drinking coffee.

And finally, if you could tell your younger self one thing, what would it be?

Don’t let your anxiety get the best of you. Everyone in high school is just as scared and nervous as you are. Go out more and talk to new people outside of your friendship group.


My questions:
  1. What is your dream job?
  2. Is there a book that changed your life? (Not your fave book, something that affected you)
  3. If you could be any person for a day, who would it be and why?
  4. If you could change one thing from history, what would it be?
  5. What book do you wish you could have studied in school?
  6. What is your favourite quote?
  7. Be honest: do you prefer the hero or the villain?
  8. What is the worst book you have ever read and why?
  9. If the world was ending, what would you be doing?
  10. Name one thing on your bucket list and if you have any plans to actually do it.
  11.  Have you had any great adventures? (Gone overseas, had a road-trip, fallen in love?)

My nominees: 

Steph @ Teacher of YA

Danielle @ Books, Vertigo and Tea

Maya @ Book Dragon 1017

Sam @ One Bookish Girl

Caffeinatious

Megan @ Book Slayer Reads

Reg @ She Latitude

Laura @ Reading Sanctuary

Saania @ The Burning Dreamer

Andie @ Books, Coffee and Passion

Rae @ Bookmark Chronicles


If you’ve been tagged before, I apologize! Otherwise, have fun doing these questions and tag me so I can read your answers ❤

-Laura

7 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Congratulations on your award! 🙂
    And OMG I’m absolutely obsessed with The Swan Princess too! It’s such a nice story and so adorable. I just found out the other day there are apparently two sequels? I had no idea, but they’re likely not as great as the first one, which would be hard anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

