autheras · battle for skeptron: the first uncovering · bluebeard's curse · book reviews · c.s. pacat · coraline · david levithan · erin watt · high school hit list · lemony snicket · neil gaiman · paper princess · r.d. gennari · regine abel · stephen chbosky · the perks of being a wallflower · the summer palace · two boys kissing

January Wrap Up

Hi all!

I hope January has been as productive a month for you as it has been for me! December was a bleak period for my blog, but I managed to correct that this month. I caught up on long overdue reviews, took part in a reading challenge, and worked with an amazing company.

As occurs every new year, I have joined the 2017 Goodreads challenge and set myself a goal of reading 50 books. I sorely hope I can achieve this goal – last year I managed to surpass my goal by 62 books! This is the year I am starting Masters, so I hope my schoolwork doesn’t interfere with my reading time (lol).


Books read:

Reviews: 

coraline

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

4 stars.
A terrifying mix of horror, mystery, adventure and subtle comedy. I still can’t believe this novel is marketed as a children’s book.

Read my full review here.

summerpalace

The Summer Palace by C.S. Pacat 

5 stars
The most beautiful and tender short story I have ever read. My heart could not handle the sweetness between Damen and Laurent to the point that I had tears streaming down my eyes. I want – no need – more stories about these husbands. ❤

Read my full review here.

battleforskeptron

Battle For Skeptron: The First Uncovering by R.D. Gennari

4.5 stars
An epic space opera that brilliantly encapsulates the usual elements of sci-fi and fantasy and presents them in a wholly unique and original manner.

Read my full review here.

perksofbeingwallflower1

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

2.5 stars
A strange mix of heartbreak, annoyance and tediousness. There were certain enjoyable parts of the novel, but the bad far outweighed the good in this case.

Read my full review here.

paperprincess

Paper Princess by Erin Watt

1.5 stars
The novel started with so much potential, but disappointed not long thereafter. Paper Princess reeks of sexism, victim-blaming and slut-shaming. I read it so you don’t have to.

Read my full review here.

twoboys

Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan 

4.5 stars
An utterly unique novel, not only in its structure but in its innovative exploration of LGBTQI+ issues. The book is narrated from the perspective of a Greek Chorus of a generation of gay men who perished from AIDS, which increased the poignancy and the impact of the novel.

Read my full review here.

bluebeardscurse

Bluebeard’s Curse by Regine Abel

4 stars
A romantic and charming novella that captures the reader’s heart in the first few pages. It is an alluring take on a terrifying folktale turned enchanting romance.

Read my full review here.


Reading Challenge:

From January 1 to 15, I participated in the Dumbledore’s Army ReadAThon hosted by Aentee @ Read At Midnight. The aim was to read seven diverse novels that correlate with spells in the Harry Potter universe, but I, sadly, only managed to read two. I was bombarded with review requests and catching up on reviews from last year, so all my focus was dedicated to writing than reading.

slyteringfinalresults


lootcrate
This month I was fortunate enough to have been given the opportunity to work with Loot Crate, an incredible subscription box company that focuses on all things nerdy. They approached me and asked if I would create a Dream Crate for my blog: a collection of items I would put it a subscription box of my own design. I came up with the theme Kids Fighting Back! which centers around middle-grade fiction and TV shows and focuses on the empowerment of children. The franchises I chose were Gravity Falls, Percy Jackson, A Series of Unfortunate Events and Steven Universe. 

Check out the Kids Fighting Back! crate here! 


Monthly Favourite:

summerpalace

It still astounds me that this story exists, that my two favourite characters have developed so much and so wonderfully. It was an absolute treat reading this short story – I have nothing but good things to say about it.

Monthly Disappointment:

perksofbeingwallflower1

I have heard nothing but good things about this novel from many people, but unfortunately I couldn’t connect with the characters. The writing also felt very childish and awkward. Was sorely annoyed by it.


January was a great month for me – I caught up on reading and writing reviews, as well as talking to everyone on this site. I can’t wait for February!

– Laura

6 thoughts on “January Wrap Up

    1. I know right?!?!?! It kills me. There’s a part of me that just can’t believe it’s canon even though I read it with my own two eyes! Those babies finally get the happy ending they deserve – I need more of this cuteness in the final 2 short stories 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Did you see the next story is going to be about Charls the cloth merchant? I weirdly can’t wait for it even though I wouldn’t mind getting only D/L stories. But I really hope the fourth and final one is going to tell us what happens politically, like are they going to marry and merge the kingdoms? I just NEED to know ❤❤❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m hoping its somehow about D and L. Like they get caught up in a plot or something and Charls has to help them out again?? and yes I agree I want that last story to answer all the remaining questions: will they marry? who is their heir? what will be the name of their new kingdom? what language is the new country going to talk in? etc.etc. so many questions!!!!! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Same! TSP was a perfect closure for them as men and as a couple, but they’re also (and, objectively, most of all) kings of two countries with so much history and problems behind them, so the story won’t be complete for me if we don’t get that kind of closure as well!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

