colleen hoover · jay kristoff · leigh bardugo · lemony snicket · marie lu · neil gaiman · nora sakavic · rainbow rowell · rick riordan · sarah j. maas · t10t · top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature meme created by the awesome The Broke and the Bookish. There is a new theme each week which gives bloggers the opportunity to share book lists!  You have the choice to participate per week. Check out The Broke and the Bookish’s blog for more info!

This week’s topic is … Authors I Read For the First Time in 2016 

As I was going through my Goodreads book list, I couldn’t believe how many well-known authors with popular novels I read for the very first time this year. This was certainly an enlightening topic!

Rainbow Rowell

For Christmas last year, I received a book voucher and went out and bought Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. Then I found out that this book is a (sort-of) sequel to Fangirl so I had to read that first (I get annoyed if I don’t read novels in order). I’m so glad I did because both of these novels are amazing and sob-worthy.

Sarah J. Maas

I had many friends who have been yelling at me for years because I hadn’t read anything from Sarah J. Maas. I have actually owned Throne of Glass since 2012, the year it was published. I just hadn’t got around to reading it until four years later (oops). I binge read all four books in the series and then her new ACOTAR books. When Empire of Storms came out this year, my love for the Throne of Glass series has dwindled, but I still really enjoy ACOTAR.

Leigh Bardugo

Almost every YA fan has read and adored Six of Crows and I sorely wanted to jump on that bandwagon. However, I really hate it when people read books out of order (it irks me so much and I don’t know why) so I had to read The Grisha books before starting Bardugo’s new series. Both series have become one of my absolute favourites.

Marie Lu

Another popular book series I heard so much about, The Young Elites was practically stalking me. My local library had the first two novels and I devoured them in a few days. When the final novel in the series came out this year, I completely became obsessed with the incredible story Lu had created – and I need more.

Neil Gaiman

Don’t poke fun, but I had never read a Neil Gaiman novel until this year. The first was The Sleeper and the Spindle which was breathtakingly beautiful, and then Coraline which was so amazing I’m still having nightmares.

Jay Kristoff

Jay Kristoff is an Australian author, most famous for his collaboration with Amie Kaufman on the Illuminae series. I read that novel last year, but this year I read the first book in his new series, Nevernight. The book was so badass, it was unputdownable.

Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover is a massive presence in the contemporary YA field and for a woman who has 16 novels to her name, I can’t believe it has taken me so long to read one of her works. I started with It Ends With Us, which was perfection. Her other novels are great too, but lacking something that IEWU had. I hope I can’t find that something again in more of her works.

Nora Sakavic

Sakavic’s All For the Game series is all over Tumblr and is constantly compared to Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle. I personally don’t see the connection, but I did fall in love with the incredible world and entire sports that Sakavic created.

Rick Riordan

Riordan’s Percy Jackson series has probably been on my TBR longer than any other novel and I finally read it this year. I fell in love with this universe so much as well as the incredible characters.

Lemony Snicket 

Another author I am ashamed to have only read this year and that is because Netflix is making a TV series of the books. I have read the first three and am loving it. I need my library to hurry up and send me the rest!

This was a really fun topic! Have you recently discovered a well-known author this year and finally read one of their novels? Let me know in the comments and get involved in T5W!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Great post!! There are a number of authors here on my ‘I know I need to read them but I haven’t quite gotten there yet ‘ list. How good is Jay Kristoff??!!? I need to go back and read his Storm Dancer series. I am both excited and frustrated by the number of projects he has on the go at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I have the same list! I feel like it’s never ending. Jay Kristoff is amazing – I haven’t read his Storm Dancer books, but I have been meaning to for ages!! I was actually going through his Goodreads pages today, and yes, he has soon many projects right now. Don’t know how he can keep track of them all lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

