becca fitzpatrick · hush, hush · jackie french · marie lu · morganville vampires · rachel caine · richelle mead · t5w · the rose society · the young elites · they came on viking ships · top 5 wednesday · vampire academy

Top 5 Wednesday

T5 Wednesday – Inaccurate Book Covers 

Top 5 Wednesday is a meme created by Gingerreadslainey where followers post book-related stuff every Wednesday. To join T5W and see the topics, check out the Goodreads page.

This Wednesday’s topic is Inaccurate Book Covers: those books that have nothing to do with the story, or the cover model doesn’t look anything like the actual main character, or it’s a really cheesy cover for a great read!
The Morganville Vampires series by Rachel Caine

morganvillepart1

The Morganville Vampires follows Claire Danvers who, sick of campus college life, takes up residence in an old house with a goth, a ghost, and an angry boy, in a town run by vampires. This series is an old favourite of mine, but I have always hated the covers. They are so cheesy and make the series look childish, when it is anything but.

The Rose Society by Marie Lu

therosesociety

I love The Young Elites trilogy – it has quickly become one of my all-time favourite series, but the cover for the second novel is ugly. It also has nothing to do with the books. Adelina, the protagonist, is known as the White Wolf, which accounts for the faded image of a wolf, at least. I really wish the cover was different for The Rose Society – I feel like the cover has probably effected sales.

The Hush Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick 

Hush Hush

The Hush Hush series was one of my favourite YA books in high school. Patch and Nora will always have a special place in my heart. Despite that, the covers of these books are so cheesy and remind me of an advertisement for a soap opera, especially Silence and Finale. The covers also don’t have much to do with the plot – they look exactly like what they are: models posing awkwardly.

Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead 

The_covers_of_the_six_Vampire_Academy_books

I read these books in high school and it is still one of my favourite YA series. But the covers … my god the covers are terrible. Not only do the models look nothing like the protagonist Rose, but the models actually change. Rose is supposed to be on the covers of book 1, 4, 5 and 6 and yet it’s a different girl on each book. If you couldn’t already tell, I also dislike books that have real life posing models on them. I feel like it cheapens the book somehow. I’m sure people would disagree, but let me know if you dislike this too.

They Came on Viking Ships by Jackie French 

viking

I had to read this novel for English class in high school and I soon fell in love with it. Jackie French is one of those authors that writes books that will be studied at school, but that’s no excuse for the terrible cover. I mean, there’s a floating head on it. And the image of the viking ship looks like a Getty image that was pasted haphazardly on the cover. A terrible cover for a great read.

Is there an amazing book that you love but has a terrible cover and fills you with unbridled rage (like me)? Let me know and get involved in T5W!

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday

  1. Pingback: thebookcorps

Leave a Reply

