adam silvera · blogger award · c.s. pacat · cassandra clare · louise rennison · maggie stiefvater · melina marchetta · more happy than not · on the jellicoe road · opinion · pride and prejudice · sarah j. maas · ya · young adult

sunshine21

I was nominated for the Sunshine Blogger 2.0 Award by the lovely Maya at Book Dragon 1017! Thank you so much, Maya, for the nomination! It’s kind people like you that make blogging so much more enjoyable. Everyone please check out her amazing blog and reviews here.  ❤

The rules:
  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you.
  3. Nominate 11 bloggers to receive the award and write them 11 new questions to answer.
Questions from Book Dragon 1017: 

What was the first book you read that pulled you into the reading world?

On the Jellicoe Road by Australian author Melina Marchetta. For those of you who have never read this amazing book, please pick up a copy immediately. The story follows seventeen-year-old Taylor Markham who, after her guardian disappears, discovers a manuscript about five teenagers who lived on the Jellicoe Road eighteen years ago. Taylor wants answers, but that means confronting her own tragic story, dealing with Jonah Griggs who she thought she would never see again, and try to find her own mother who abandoned her years ago on the Jellicoe Road. This book made me fall in love with reading. Marchetta is a master at manipulation and the novel will keep you up all hours of the night trying to solve the puzzle and piece together the clues. Every time I reread the book, I discover another element to it that I hadn’t noticed before. It’s such a clever novel. Just writing this now is enticing me for another read.

If you could switch roles with any fictional character who would it be?

I would love to switch roles with Lizzie from Pride and Prejudice. Austen’s classic is a book I reread every three to four months. I love the world of Pride and Prejudice, I love the characters, the relationships, the story … everything about it makes me incredibly happy. Lizzie Bennet is one of my all time favourite characters: she’s highly intelligent, individual and refuses to let anyone other than herself be in control of her destiny. Also, if I were to switch lives with Lizzie, that would mean I would be married to Darcy.

What made you start a blog?

Funnily enough, my sister inspired me to start a blog! Like most of us who have book review blogs, I love reading and often pestered my sister with my thoughts on any book I was reading. I once woke her up at 2am so I could tell her about this amazing graphic novel I had just finished reading (From Hell by Alan Moore). She finally cracked and told me to go annoy someone else, so I took it upon myself to annoy the internet. Sorry guys.

What inspired the name of your blog?

Sadly, I can’t remember why I chose thebookcorps! I know it has something to do with the army, but that’s about it. (That’s really terrible, now that I think about it).

Who is/are your favourite author(s)?

C.S. Pacat, Sarah J. Maas, Oscar Wilde, Charlotte Bronte, George R.R. Martin, Cassandra Clare, Maggie Stiefvater, K.J. Charles, Joanna Chambers, Madeline Miller, Louise Rennison, and Ava March.

What is your favourite genre?

Definitely fantasy! I live, breathe, eat and drink fantasy. My favourite type of fantasy novels are those where the author has created an entire country, with it’s own culture, religion, peoples and customs. The more creative and in-depth, the better!

Which fictional world is your favourite?

That would be a tie between the world of Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling and the world of A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin. While Harry Potter will always have a special place in my heart and constantly evokes nostalgic feelings from me, there’s something that just speaks to me with Martin’s incredible world-building of Westeros.

What else are you obsessed with besides reading?

I am obsessed with history, particularly medieval England and can list all the English Kings and Queens in order (I call this my party trick). My favourite historical event is the War of the Roses and I have many novels, history books, and even merchandise, to commemorate it. My favourite ruler of England is Richard III – I am even a member of the Richard III society, which is a group dedicated to proving that the accounts of Richard’s character, history and career, were slanderous, incorrect, and nothing more than Tudor propaganda. So yeah, just a tad obsessed.

What was the last book you read that made you cry?

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera. I balled my eyes out while reading this book. Seriously, great big sobs. I had a box of tissues beside me for the last quarter of the novel. Every one needs to read this heart-breaking book. Read my review here.

What was a book that you disliked before reading but ended up liking it afterwards?

That would be The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. Before I read the novel, this book just seemed like the type that is so overrated. In fact, the man who killed John Lennon had a copy of this book in his pocket when he did the deed. How could a book possibly be that influential? And then I read it. Oh, boy. I can’t even explain what it is about The Catcher in the Rye, what elements in it that make people feel and hurt, but I can definitely see how it affects every one that reads it. Not that I’m condoning murder, mind. But there’s something about The Catcher in the Rye, a certain mystique and sincerity. It stayed with me long after I finished reading it.

What is the maximum number of times you’ve read a book?

I’m not 100% sure how many times I have read Pride and Prejudice, but I do read it at least 3-4 times a year. I believe I first read it in 2010, so if my math is correct, that would be 18-24 times over six years. Omg, I need a life.

My questions:
  1. What is your favourite childhood book?
  2. What is the worst book you have ever read?
  3. What makes you really love a book?
  4. Is there a book that intimidates you and you’re too nervous to read?
  5. Who is your favourite fictional villain?
  6. What is your favourite film adaptation of a novel?
  7. Is there a certain way you orgainze your book shelf?
  8. If you were only allowed to read one book for the rest of your life, what book would that be?
  9. How many books do you own?
  10. Is there a quote from a book that will you never forget?
  11. On average, how many books do you read a year?
My nominees:

bookidote

i fall in love book blog

Books, Vertigo and Tea

angelusbookshelf

Slice of Literary Advice

That Wild Soul 

Casey Carlisle

Highlit

Heba’s Book Blog

the little squid

Rine Reads

 

Have fun everyone!

– Lorrie

3 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

