cassandra clare · opinion

In Defense of Cassandra Clare 

Last week, Cassandra Clare released a statement that she would be releasing a new book series in the world of the Shadowhunters, co-written with Wesley Chu. The series will focus on Maguns Bane, the lovable, eccentric warlock from The Mortal Instruments series, and will be Clare’s first foray into adult literature, after writing all her other novels exclusively in the YA genre. This statement came with the usual litany of rolled-eyes and a chorus of “oh, god, not again.” Usually, I ignore these statements. After all, if Clare wants to continue writing stories in one of my favourite universes, who am I to stop her? But this time, it bugged me, and compelled me to write this post.

To all you nay-sayers and haters, I have only one question: why? If you are that upset about Clare writing another series in this world, then simply do not read the books. There is no reason to go on social media and lambast her, calling her a “cash cow” and other insulting adjectives. When I first came across these screaming haters on social media, I was taken back. I pictured an angry, furious typing, frothing-at-the-mouth psycho who has nothing better to do with their time then to bully people they don’t know on the internet. Then I realised, they are people like me: twenty-something fans of Clare’s who snapped.

I understand. I do. It feels like Clare is only writing about the Shadow World and nothing else, but to that I say, why shouldn’t she? As a fellow writer, I know how hard it is to part from characters that you created, that you birthed, loved, cried over, and keep a special place in your heart. Clare has created an incredible world of high fantasy: the plot is astounding, her characters memorable. It is no wonder, then, that she keeps coming up with ideas for more books. With a world such as this, who wouldn’t?

Clare is not the only author who continues to write books in the same world. There’s Tamora Pierce, Rick Riordan, Kiera Cass, and even mystery writers such as James Patterson, Lee Child and Janet Evanovich. Where is the outrage over these authors? Why is Clare the only one being called a “cash cow” when James Patterson has 24 books in his Alex Cross series and 16 books in his Women’s Murder Club series? Why is no one rolling their eyes over Janet Evanovich’s 23 book Stephanie Plum series? Is it because these books were written for adults as opposed to teens? I just don’t understand.

As someone who has been with Clare since the first Mortal Instruments book was published, I am honoured that she would continue writing in a world that I know and love. Every time I sit down to read one of her books, I am immersed in a familiar world where I feel safe, where I know I will laugh and cry and scream and shake my head in surprise. Her books are like sitting down and talking with an old friend you haven’t seen in years. That is what I feel when I read her books. That is what haters are threatening to take away every time I read their hateful comments online. If you do not like the direction Clare is going in, then simply do not read her books. There is no need to spew profanities and ruin it for the rest of us.

Buy her books here.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

